Stay Connected


History of the Peterborough Petes

The Peterborough Petes, formerly the Kitchener Green Shirts, were officially born in Peterborough on October 1st, 1956 as a farm team for the NHL’s Montreal Canadiens. They recorded their first game November 8th, 1956. They became known as the Peterborough Petes Hockey Club in 1966/67, but still adorned TPT on their sweaters, being sponsored by the Toronto Peterborough Transport Company. It was not until the 1974/75 season that fans saw the birth of the official “Petes” wearing the maroon and white and dropping the TPT and Montreal Canadiens colours.

Throughout team history, Peterborough has enjoyed much success, which have helped to put Peterborough and the Petes on the map throughout the hockey world and paved the way for many legends. The Petes have held such records as nine-time OHL Champions, most Memorial Cup appearances for a franchise (8), and most final game appearances (6), both a CHL record. As a franchise, The Petes have missed the post season just 7 times (1961/62, 1975/76, 2003/04, 2006/07, 2010/11, 2011/12 and 2012/13). Ironically, the Peterborough Petes have recorded only one franchise Memorial Cup Championship, earned by the 1979 team coached by Gary Green.

To date, one of the most significant accomplishments for the Petes, their fans, members of its organization, and the City of Peterborough was hosting the Memorial Cup tournament in 1996 while celebrating the franchise’s 40th anniversary in the league. The club set standards achieving a 100% sell-out each tournament game (4,429).

The Peterborough Petes are currently in their 58th Ontario Hockey League season and are the oldest continuously operating franchise in both the OHL and the CHL. For a small community, Peterborough has become recognized globally as being a “Junior Hockey Factory”. The city has produced a more National Hockey League players (150+) than any other junior team in the world. Notable alumni include Zack Kassian, Zach Bogosian, Eric & Jordan Staal, Chris Pronger, Steve Yzerman, Bob Gainey, Mike Ricci, and Tie Domi. The franchise has also been home to such notable coaches/managers with the likes of Scotty Bowman, Roger Neilson, Mike Keenan, Gary Green, and Dick Todd. Dick recorded 500 career victories faster than any other coach in Major Junior A hockey, accomplishing the milestone in just 813 games.